Grandma’s Sausage Casserole

5

November 18, 2009 by ronfluff

And so to begin in earnest with a question. How many sausages would you eat as ‘a portion’? Think on, think on… (and perhaps answer the poll?)

It seemed fitting that I started my recipe writing with one of the dishes that I clearly remember learning when I was young. Incidentally,  the other recipe I remember from my youth was learnt at school during a very brief stint in home economics when we weren’t colouring in pictures of ‘kitchen danger’ or  food group charts. Whilst everyone else in the class, without exception, did pastry-based pizza, I got all maverick with spaghetti bolognese. I’m sure it wasn’t the best, but even then I was proud to be a little more adventurous with my food.

My Grandma is a great cook, if finding it a little difficult to keep up with it these days. She taught me one that, between my sister and myself, has become a family legend. It’s simple, classic, amendable if necessary, and goes smashingly with an autumnal afternoon and creamy mash.

In terms of your sauce, you have more options. English pressed apple juice is great as it is less sweet, regular apple juice goes up one on the sweet scale, and cider can vary depending on what type you get. I told you it was adaptable…

Oh, and have you thought of your sausage-to-portion ratio yet? I’d go for three or four per person, but then I’m greedy, as you’ll see. Maybe two or three would suffice here, so eight to ten in all…

Grandma’s Sausage Casserole

Serves 4

You’ll need

  • 8-10 of the best tasty sausages you can find – look out for a taste test on here one day soon (hmmmm….)
  • 1 large onion, sliced
  • Around 400ml apple juice/cider (see above). You may need more or less – use your judgement!
  • 1 tsp whole grain mustard
  • Dried sage and oregano, or just dried mixed herbs (or 8 or so leaves of fresh sage if available)
  • Salt & pepper
  • Cornflour or plain flour to thicken if necessary
  • Olive oil

Do it!

  1. Heat a little oil in a large frying pan or pan (the heavier the base the better) and brown the sausages all over for about 4-5 minutes)
  2. Push the sausages to one side and add the onion, frying it until soft.
  3. Add the mustard and a good pinch of whatever dried herbs you fancy. Mixed herbs are OK, but sage is probably best. If you’re using fresh sage, fry it for a few seconds before you add the mustard, so as to release the flavour into the oil.
  4. Season with a pinch of salt and pepper.
  5. Pour over the juice or cider to cover the sausages and bring to the boil.
  6. Turn down the heat, cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes.
  7. Uncover for the last 5-7 until the sauce is thickened to your liking.
  8. If the sauce is too runny, use a spoonful of liquid to mix with a little flour or cornflour and return to the casserole.
  9. Season to taste and serve, giving yourself an extra sausage for the trouble!
5 thoughts on “Grandma’s Sausage Casserole

  1. spannabrick says:

    I like the sauce runny so leave out the flour. Great mopped up with bread at the end.

    Can highly recommend leftover cold sausages from the casserole in a sandwich the next day! (But without the sauce – noone likes a soggy sandwich).

  2. Kx says:

    I love this recipe! I’ve eaten this many times straight from the cheferoo ‘imself and it’s scruptious and winter comfort food. 2 sausages I say and 3 for bigger people. 4 leaves you with a podge I think…ahem…

  3. tom says:

    Thank you perloobed. I ate some sausage casserole yesterday. It was delicious. Straight to the pleasure dome. Tx

    (for the record, I had 3, and some chicken)

  4. ronfluff says:

    Nice one! Which came first though, the chicken or the sausages? Ah, that eternal question…

  5. Babs says:

    I hope that you are going to pay my old mother some royalties now that you have bagged her recipe!

Leave a Reply

Brickwick Projects

Please visit my Projects website:
